Is Michael lost forever?

Possible Spoiler

According to Seattlepi.com, actor Harold Perrineau who portrays Michael on Lost is no longer under contract and is free to pursue other work. Perrineau told Scripps Howard News Service that he won’t be back when Lost returns in the fall.

“As of so far, I am not back next season. I am not off the show, but I am not back next season … and I may not ever be back.”

Perrineau also said that he was aware of a story line in which Michael tries to get back to the island, but according to the actor, this is not planned for the next season of Lost.

Even if this was expected, I’m a bit sad to see Michael disappear. I felt that he was a very strong character with much potential left.

I certainly hope that this doesn’t mean that we have also seen the last of Walt, since I believed that he was one of the most important characters of Lost. There is still much mystery surrounding Walt’s time with The Others and his strange “powers” that needs to be explained.

If we never find out why the Others took Walt.. let’s just say that I will get pretty pissed.

This entry was posted in Lost. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Is Michael lost forever?

  1. Madison says:

    Poor Vincent, another abandoned dog story? 😀

  2. Lesley says:

    I have to agree there are loose ends regarding Walt that we were led to believe were most important to the story being told. (Mayabe the Others’ back stories will enlighten us.) I liked Michael as well and thought that having such a strong character being conflicted regarding his actions in Season 2 and his fellow Losties’ feelings of betrayal would make for some intense drama. I am disappointed. I certainly hope that the creators have something else up their sleeve… it would be a real shame if this show were to jump the shark so soon. Now we must have faith! (Yikes!)

  3. Maurice Tift says:

    I had forgotten that Michael and Walt left the island without Vincent!
    Charlie and Claire seem to be back together – so if they adopt Vincent the dog, then you have the first complete island family. With Jack as Claire’s possible half-brother, things can get even more interesting.

  4. Love's Labor's Lost says:

    Didn’t Walt “give” Vincent to Shannon when he and Michael left on the boat? Who has been taking care of Vincent since Shannon died, Sayid?

  5. Andreas says:

    Ah yes.. who is taking care of Vincent.. now THAT is the largest mystery on Lost…

  6. Tasha says:

    I am sure EVERYONE is looking after Vincent. I mean he is the only pet left on the island. I think hat they wioll be back…maybe not next season. Next season is mainly about the OTHERS but we may find out the whole story about Walt THROUGH them…like in Henry’s flashbacks or something……

  7. Lance says:

    I think this story was a ruse. I think that he is coming back they’re just saying that to try ot surprise us. They wouldn’t end Michael and Walt’s characters like that.

  8. johnny.b.good says:

    One of the great things about the writing in LOST is that because so many of the characters are connected we can find out about one’s past without actually seeing them in the shot. Perhaps that is how they are planning on revealing Michael’s past, through Walt and the Other’s. We may find that one of the LOSTies had a relationship with Walt’s mom, who knows…the possiblities are endless.

  9. Martin Krøger says:

    I think we all need to have a little faith 🙂

    I can’t think of any instance so far in the show of the writers and producers letting us down. I am confident that they have a clear set of ideas on where the show is going and what we need to see.

    I’m so looking forward to season 3!

  10. joe says:

    hmm this is disappointing.. so we won’t find out what’s at heading 346 or whatever it was? it sounds fishy to me. everything they’ve built demands at least a walt flashback episode to show what happened while he was away.

    though it’s impossible to tell what the scope of next season will be – if the focus is on the others and penny widmore (and will likely span another month of island timeline) perhaps there just isn’t space for michael’s story? eh. i hope it’s not true.

  11. Derek says:

    Well, he may not be a regular, but he could still show up every now and then to cameo like Cynthia Watros, and of course he may be in season 4 a lot. Is Walt going to be a regular next season? That would be odd if he was, and not Michael. Perhaps the Others made a clone while they had him, and are doing accelerated growth treatments. We could see the actors that played baby and li’l Walts, and eventually see Malcolm David Kelly post-puberty (I’m assuming it’s taking a while to get there). I remember Damon and Carlton saying they’d write it in once they got to the point that Walt looks really different. Haha, just some rampant speculation on my part, wanted to throw it out there.

  12. Sakr3d says:

    This news doesn’t bother me too much. Aside from Shannon, Michael was the character I disliked the most. It only took three episodes before I hated every scene involving Michael. It only took one scene for me to disklike every Shannon scene. lol. I didn’t like Jin either, but as the show went on, I started liking him more and more. Not the case for Michael. He reminds me of Anakin Skywalker in Episode 3. You know what I’m talking about. All the crying, boo hooing, complaining! I wanted to reach through my cheap TV and slap Michael around and say, “Grow a pair boy!”

    !End Rant!

    P.S.
    Malcolm David Kelley has already said in an interview that he would be back for season 3. Most likely flashbacks with the others or in The Other’s flashbacks.

    P.S.
    I’m still hoping that the Walt on the boat is actually an astral projection of Walt, and Michael doesn’t realize this until it’s too late and he can no longer return to the island. Now that would be cruel and sweet all at the same time! 😀

  13. Julie says:

    I posted this on another string.. but I live in Sierra Vista, AZ… just south of Tucson and “Walt” was on the John Jay & Rich morning show the day of the season two finale. They point blank asked him and he said ‘yes, I will be back in season three. it was good to be home with my friends and play bball and stuff but its much better to be back with my cast mates this season’.
    “Michael” may not be in this season, but we definately see Walt.

  14. Hammer says:

    I’m thinking Micheal will get killed during the unfolding of “Jack’s plan”. Most likely already filmed as part of episode 1 of season 3 and therefore no need for the actor for season 3. And Walt will survive so that we can see what happened to him.

    Which would be fitting.

  15. joe says:

    it’s also possible we will get a wrap up with michael during the mini episodes to come later on.. good to hear at least a rumor that walt is back for season 3

  16. stoops says:

    We ‘saw’ Walt on the boat at the finale, but Walt has shown up where he wasnt supposed to be before, right?

  17. Julie says:

    [quote comment=”3609″]We ‘saw’ Walt on the boat at the finale, but Walt has shown up where he wasnt supposed to be before, right?[/quote]

    Yea and come to think of it.. he didnt say much either. Didnt he always talk backward when he was ‘appearing’?
    I think that the only thing he said in the finale was “dad”. Which… if you say it backwards…is still “dad”.
    Hmm…maybe we’re on to something.

  18. Lance says:

    The writers seem to forget that not long ago it had been announced that they had re-signed all of the main characters and gave them bigger paychecks. Thus telling us that Michael will indeed be back, this is simply something the writers are doing to try to throw people off and keep people talking about Lost while it is in it’s hiatus.

  19. stlolth says:

    Is the hatch off the payrol too? How about the magnetic anomaly? I wonder if the black smoke is still under contract. And what about asylum libby? I hope scary whispers and polar bear haven’t been fired as well.

  20. Molly Neil says:

    [quote comment=”3580″]This news doesn’t bother me too much. Aside from Shannon, Michael was the character I disliked the most. It only took three episodes before I hated every scene involving Michael. It only took one scene for me to disklike every Shannon scene. lol. I didn’t like Jin either, but as the show went on, I started liking him more and more. Not the case for Michael. He reminds me of Anakin Skywalker in Episode 3. You know what I’m talking about. All the crying, boo hooing, complaining! I wanted to reach through my cheap TV and slap Michael around and say, “Grow a pair boy!”

    !End Rant!

    P.S.
    Malcolm David Kelley has already said in an interview that he would be back for season 3. Most likely flashbacks with the others or in The Other’s flashbacks.

    P.S.
    I’m still hoping that the Walt on the boat is actually an astral projection of Walt, and Michael doesn’t realize this until it’s too late and he can no longer return to the island. Now that would be cruel and sweet all at the same time! :D[/quote]
    hey i like Micheal exept that he killed Ana-Lucia. I hope they both come back.

  21. aryan says:

    so if u ask me i did hate this mechael all the time i mean the story if it would be like prison break wouldnt let him go without paying him back wat he did done i mean the guy did kill 2 people and did pissed life of all the people becouse he just wanted his ugly son that he even didnt know somthing about him????

    the point is at all if he never saw hes son how comes that he now care about his son like mad even it was the mother she wouldnt care so much about the child,
    and if u ask if u dont like it dont watch lost i would answer i just do it becouse i dont have to pay a cent for it and i just want to c wat happen to my lovly (and only) character sawyer 😀

    jack and micheal and the juliet r such stupid charecters that are soooo UNREAL

Comments are closed.