JJ Abrams cancels directing plans

Despite plans for Lost co-creator JJ Abrams to direct a mid-season episode of Lost, he has now been forced to cancel the plans, according to SciFi.com and ctnow.com.

“I was supposed to leave today for Hawaii to begin prep on an episode I was set to direct that I was just dying to do, the story of which is just mind-blowing,” Abrams said. “But because of work on some of the other shows, I’ve been unable to do that. And so I’m going to be directing an episode later in the season. But the thing that I’m so grateful about, and impressed by, is that Damon has managed to maintain a level of drama and gripping storytelling as he has. … I think that when you get to the end of the season, it’s such an exciting and unbelievable conclusion that I would hope maybe – I don’t want to step on Jack Bender’s shoes, because he’s an incredible director-producer for us back in Hawaii – but I’d love to be able to work on the finale with him.”

Abrams continues:

“The truth is that Damon and Carlton have been doing such a great job. I’m there when needed. I’ve been reading the scripts, and, like I said, I worked on the first episode with Damon. … There isn’t anything that I felt the show was missing that I wanted to put back in. It was more, selfishly, I miss kind of getting my hands dirty and working on actually writing scenes and coming up with story.”

Besides addressing the directing issue, Abrams said it won’t be too hard for new viewers to catch up.

“There’s a misperception for some people that you have to know everything about `Lost’ in the first two seasons and maybe have read a book about it, or done the online experience,” he says. “You don’t have to do any of that. The premiere of `Lost’ this year will catch you up enough.”

I really respect JJ’s work and think he’s a great guy, but in my opinion Lost is Damon and Carlton’s show now since they are doing a great job running the show on a daily basis.

It would be fun if JJ was to direct a mid-season episode, but in my opinion the season finale should be written by Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse, and directed by Jack Bender.

This entry was posted in Lost. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to JJ Abrams cancels directing plans

  1. mike says:

    agreed. JJ gets way too much credit for his work on lost. it’s damon and carlton’s show.

  2. KillerR says:

    Man, that sucks, i was looking forward to seeing a new jj episode. hopefully we’ll get one next year.

Comments are closed.