Characters that shouldn't die

Mr.Eko’s death last week must have been really inspiring, because “hit lists” on which Lost characters should be the next to die have popped up all over the internet in the last few days.

I could be boring and write my own little hit list, but to tell the truth I only want Paulo and Nikki to die, and that wouldn’t make a very long list. Instead, here is a list of the characters I really like and want to be kept alive as long as possible. The list is more or less ordered, with my favorites at the top.

  • Desmond – Since his comeback in the Lost Season 2 finale, Desmond had been one of my favorites. The story of his odyssey to prove his worth and win Penelope’s eternal love feels like the most pivotal story in Lost.
  • Walt – Just because he went out to sea when we last saw him doesn’t mean we’ve seen the last of Lost’s little psychokinetic superstar. Walt is special, both Locke and Bryan said so. Ever since the scene in season one where he played backgammon with Locke I’ve been intrigued by Walt. “There are two sides, one is light, one is dark.” – I believe this is one of the most important scenes in Lost. The light and dark side is of course good and evil, and in the end the two forces may just be represented by Walt and Locke.
  • Locke – Not only played by one of the best actors on the show, but also one of the most interesting characters. How did Locke end up in a wheelchair? How did he learn to hunt bore with knife? If anyone will save the losties, I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s John Locke. Unless he turns over to the dark side first.
  • Henry, I mean Ben – With Juliet asking Jack to kill him, I’ll admit that Ben’s odds aren’t the best, but I really like Michael Emerson’s psychological badguy. Ben makes Lost a lot more thrilling, so please Jack, don’t kill him!
  • Juliet – She’s the best thing yet in Season 3! Beautiful, intelligent, funny and manipulative. Elizabeth Mitchell does a great job playing the mysterious Other and I can’t wait to learn more about her character.
  • Jack – I’ve identified with Jack since Season 1, and he is the natural born leader of the group so it would be weird to see him go. Nevertheless, he was initially supposed to die in the pilot episode so you never know. I really like Jack though, because he is the hero and the leader, but at the same time he is vulnerable and has some serious issues that trouble him.
  • Sawyer – The guy has attitude, humor and tries to only show his strong side, but under the rough facade Sawyer is vulnerable and sometimes even seems to hate himself. The fact that Josh Holloway is doing a great job playing him doesn’t make things worse.
  • Hurley – Everyone loves Hurley. He is funny and a genuinely nice guy, but how is he connected to the numbers and why does bad luck seem to follow in his footsteps? Killing Hurley would probably be one of the worst decisions ever.

The list is starting to get a bit long so I suppose I should round it off. Special mentions go to Kate, Sayid and Jin, who are all just as cool as the characters in the list. Claire, Aaron and Richard Malkin (the psychic) are also quite interesting. I want to know if the psychic really knew what would happen!

While writing this list, it has become clear to me that I think almost every single character on Lost is great and that’s perhaps also why Lost is such a good show. All of the characters are complex and you can really identify with them.

Which are your favorite characters? You only get to pick a maximum of three, so who do you like the most and why?

This entry was posted in Lost. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Characters that shouldn't die

  1. Mabry says:

    My favorites, in order:

    1. Ben/Henry – The best acting on the show, period. This character is just amazing, and I am so glad he joined the cast.

    2. Locke – Definitely my favorite until the arrival of Henry, I originally thought he was some CIA agent of some sort- working for a box company but with incredible hunting skills? I really think there’s more to him than meets the eye, I think he has a fascinating story and I would be heartbroken if he were killed.

    3. Sayid – Though I must admit I have been very underwhelmed by Sayid this season, both in airtime and in character development. Hopefully we’ll see more of him “next season” in the spring 🙂

    I had trouble deciding between Sayid and Charlie – but Sayid won out in the end.

  2. Zeb says:

    OK, I’m game, although the guy I would have put at the top of the list is already gone.

    1. Sayid – he’s got some major redemption to do, and it’s going to take a long time. I think he’ll survive all the way to the end of the series. Though I’ll bet that he never leaves the island; for some reason, he will choose to remain there even if everyone else goes home.

    2. Kate – she will survive to the final episode, and in the last 15 minutes, either Sawyer or Jack (probably Sawyer) will die heroically to save her life. And like Sayid, she’ll never leave the island – there are too many US Marshals gunning for her in the outside world.

    3. Hurley – a no-brainer, because you simply can’t kill off your beloved comic relief. Even if everyone else dies in some cataclysm in the final episode, Hurley will survive. (I can see the final scene: Hurley is standing on the small smoking rock that is all that is left of the island. He looks around for a minute, and then says, “Dude!” Fade to black.)

  3. dannie says:

    What about Kate?

  4. MeT says:

    Why does no one mention Charlie. Without him the only comic relief is the running joke that Hurley is completely clueless

  5. shawdawg says:

    I would like to see Jack die. That guy is a wimp

  6. poopypants says:

    **********WHO IS IN**********
    -Danielle Rousseau
    -Kelvin (possibly dead)
    -Tom
    -Benjamin Linus (Henry Gale)
    -Shannon (really dead,unfortunatly)
    -Locke
    -Michael
    -Sawyer
    -Sayid
    -Desmond
    -Mr. Paik
    **********WHO IS OUT**********
    -Kate
    -Charlie
    -Danny Pickett
    -Juliet

  7. Steph says:

    1. Jack can not die leader. His emotions help the show. In my eyes anyway. 2.Locke- he still has a destiny to help save Jack, Kate and Sawyer. As told by Boone ( What a hottie)! 3.Hurley, love him! He played our numbers. And is funny and caring.God love em!

  8. jbdean says:

    #1] Desmond
    #2] Locke
    #3] Ben
    (in that order)

    These are, by far, the best characters (and actors) on the whole show. I don’t care if Jack or Kate go. They’ve been booorrring since day one to me and only in S03 has Jack even come close to making me like him. I say keep Sawyer just because he’s full of spunk and still has a lot of story to tell. But my hope is that my top 3 will last until the very last second of the very last eppy of the entire show.

  9. Dianne says:

    Oh pretty please DON’T KILL DESMOND OFF….I might stop watching if that were to happen. He’s the only reason I STARTED watching again during s2.

  10. Andreas says:

    I don’t think Desmond or Sayid will die anytime soon because both characters have ongoing love stories with women who are not on the island.

    We know that Sayid’s Nadia is in USA because Locke checked her house. This could of course just be another six degrees of separation thing, but I would be a bit surprised if Sayid doesn’t find Nadia in the end.

    Regarding Kate and Charlie, I still like them. Charlie has been a bit annoying this season though. More irritating than funny. Kate is still a great character and I would be quite upset if she was killed.

  11. poopypants says:

    #1 Kate Has Got to Go.

    I love Kate too,dont get me wrong,but it
    seems to me she has nothing left to give as
    an actress,I mean if you think about it she
    keeps making the same faces over and over and over,its getting painful.Painful.Im not an actor ,I just play one on the net,but lets just say her professional skills are shallow at best.

    #2 Make Him Relevent or Just Kill Charlie.

    If there is a reason we are subjected to the most irrelevent charater in the history of history,boy its “Lost” on me.(pun intended)
    I mean really,at least he was interesting when he was smashing herion and attacking sub-one hundred pound women,but without that,hes just an anoying little turd.To bad there wasn’t a bloody dentist on that doomed plane,Charlies chicklets are looking a little buckled.Bottom line here,use em’ or loose em’

  12. Homero says:

    Michael should be brought back. He deserves to die. Every viewer would be happy to see that.

    I agree Charlie is not fun at all either
    I like Desmond, Locke & Kate.

  13. Lesley says:

    You have made it very hard with just three!

    1. Ben
    2. Sawyer
    3. Juliet/Kate in a tie

    Ben is perhaps the most intricate of all the characters and I hope we see a lot more of him. He is the best actor on the show.

    Saywer, what is not to say, he is hard-shelled and tough. He brings comedy, tragedy and that soft marshmellow center. His character came full-circle with season 3.

    These two women have it all and still you always have to wonder where they are coming from. They are both strong and intelligent but I would trust Kate before I trust Juliet.

  14. Andreas says:

    [quote comment=”13553″]#1 Kate Has Got to Go.

    I love Kate too,dont get me wrong,but it
    seems to me she has nothing left to give as
    an actress,I mean if you think about it she
    keeps making the same faces over and over and over,its getting painful.Painful.Im not an actor ,I just play one on the net,but lets just say her professional skills are shallow at best.[/quote]

    I don’t really agree, Evangeline did a great job in the crying scene in Every Man for Himself and overall I think she does a pretty good job.

    [quote comment=”13567″]Michael should be brought back. He deserves to die. Every viewer would be happy to see that.[/quote]

    I certainly don’t want Michael to die, at least not before we find out why he killed Ana-Lucia and Libby. Michael was a desperate father willing to do anything to protect his son, I don’t think he deserves to die for that.

    [quote comment=”13568″]You have made it very hard with just three![/quote]

    Hehe, yeah I know. That was kind of the point. My list became way to long, so for the sake of keeping the discussion interesting I figured it was best to limit things a bit!

  15. Tasha says:

    I don’t think Micheal should die. He has alot of issues but come on!! He is an actor and just goes along with what they tell him to do!

    Walt has already lost one parent and I think that would be cruel for Micheal not to get the chance to make up for all that.

    I don’t even care he kiled the other people because first off- they died off the show and they had to do it somehow. I didn’t like Ana-Lucia anyway.

    Three characters that i want to stay are

    Locke- because no matter what anyone else thinks- he holds a MAJOR key to all this somehow. I don’t know how yet but he does.

    Hurley- I want to see more of his past and see who else was in the nut house with him.

    ALL of the others. Now I know that they are a bit whacked. I just want to know what happened to these people to make them that way. They sure are pretty civil to eachother. WE saw that when that man’s wife died. They wanted to save her. They care about eachother- so what is the turning point here? Why are they acting like this toward the Losties??? WHy couldn’t they just welcome them and let them join them in whatever it is they are doing? Do they feel threatened? How do they know so much about these Losties?? It is like it was all MEANT to be.

  16. MasterPo says:

    I hope that if they kill off Sayid he goes out fighting. Maybe sacraficing himself to save the rest of the Losties, taking a bunch of Others with him.

  17. m@tlabs says:

    the Ben – Henry character is very….

    has anyone else noticed Jack is doing the same mind trick to Benry (thats what i call ben/henry) and Juliet that Henry did to Jack and Locke when they had him in lockup. Henry asked Locke who was in charge and challenged that answer several times during his capture even put the same seed in Jack’s head.

    Now that jack is the captured, he’s playing Benry and Juliet in the same way….

    who really is in charge?

  18. Joyce says:

    My top three:

    Jack, Sawyer and Locke. I wouldn’t continue watching the show if one of them died.

    Bottom three who could be killed off: Sun, Jin, Charlie.

    Three who I want to know more about: Ben, Juliette and Mr. Friendly.

    Don’t care about Walt or Michael. I think they’re gone for good.

  19. Steve says:

    I could live without Kate, Charlie, and Sun.

    I could not do without Sawyer, Sayid, and Hurley.

    I still can’t figure out how they plan on tying up the libby in the nuthouse story, or how Sawyer, Kate, and Jack will ever integrate back into beach life.

  20. MasterPo says:

    [quote comment=”13591″]Don’t care about Walt or Michael. I think they’re gone for good.[/quote]

    As characters they aren’t my favorites either.

    But *how* they left is the real question! I sure hope they do a good explanation. If all of a sudden Michael and Walk come stubbling out of the jungle saying “What happened?” that will be a real disappointment.

    ps- I don’t mind that Boone’s sister (forgot her name) got it. She was too whiney.

  21. TG says:

    My picks. . .

    Locke: Jack may be the leader, but Locke is the HERO. He is not simply trying to survive, he is trying to grow and learn and be wiser through the experience. (I realize that sounds a little sappy, but it makes for some good TV!)

    Ben: Who would have thought the strange guy in Rousseau’s net would become the most compelling personality on the whole show? He makes my blood run cold, but I keep second-guessing myself, wondering if it’s possible that he’s actually good.

    Sawyer: You think comedy comes from Hurley and Charlie? For my money, Sawyer’s barbed comments are the funniest thing on the show. He also defies the “good” and “bad” categories; even though he predictably TRIES to be the bad guy, his moments of kindness are always unexpected and refreshing–never cliched.

    Honorable mentions for Juliet and Sayid!

    I think I’m drawn to all of these characters for the same reason: I have no idea what they’re going to do. Jack will always be noble, Kate will be feisty, Hurley will be funny, Claire will be protective, Rousseau will be paranoid, etc. I tune in for the characters who consistently surprise me.

  22. Carly says:

    The people who I think shouldn’t die are Sawyer, Jack, John, Ben, Hurley, and Kate. If one of them was killed I wouldn’t be interested in the show and I would not be looking forward to watching Lost every Wednesday night. The people I do think shoudld get killed off are Jin, Desmond, and Sun. I love Lost and Im looking forward to tonight’s episode on Wednesday, November 8, 2006!

    I think that Kate and Sawyer should definatley hook up. They are so cute together.

    I think that Juliette and Jack should hook up because you can totally tell there is a conncetion between the two.

    So tune into tonight to watch the greatest/#1 show in the United States of America

    Thank You,
    Carly

  23. Tarara says:

    Andreas wrote:

    I certainly don’t want Michael to die, at least not before we find out why he killed Ana-Lucia and Libby. Michael was a desperate father willing to do anything to protect his son, I don’t think he deserves to die for that.

    Tarara wrote:

    We already KNOW why he killed Ana-Lucia and Libby…he had to kill Ana-Lucia to be able to break out Ben so he could get his son back. Libby was an accident…just bad timing and an itchy trigger finger on Michael’s part.

  24. Andreas says:

    [quote comment=”13672″]We already KNOW why he killed Ana-Lucia and Libby…he had to kill Ana-Lucia to be able to break out Ben so he could get his son back. Libby was an accident…just bad timing and an itchy trigger finger on Michael’s part.[/quote]

    Was it really necessary for him to kill Ana to be able to help Ben escape? To me it felt like there was more to it, but alright, you’re probably right.

  25. MasterPo says:

    [quote comment=”13685″]Was it really necessary for him to kill Ana to be able to help Ben escape? To me it felt like there was more to it, but alright, you’re probably right.[/quote]

    Time factor wise, yes. Michael could have waited for a chance to be alone in the hatch then claim Henry/Ben overpowered him and escaped. But he didn’t want to wait for such an oppotunity.

    Also remember that he was told to bring Hurley, Jack, Kate and Sawyer back too. So just Henry/Ben escaping might not be enough to motivate them to go. But the death of Ana made them feel it was more urgent to go.

    I’m really sorry they killed her off. I think she had great potential to be a female Sayid-like character. And a love triangle between her, Kate and Jack would have been ineteresting.

  26. Julie says:

    My favorites:
    Sawyer: Maybe its a TN thing. He’s from Knoxville and I’m from Nashville (originally). He’s plays the ‘southern boy’ (notice I didnt say country boy..cause there is a difference!) down to a T. I see the people I grew up with in everything that he does. I know its not a real reason to not kill him off… but its my reason. 🙂
    Desmond: Everything he does on the show seems to have a purpose. We’ve seen some episodes where we’ve all just said “and we needed to know that why?”… but not so with him.
    Ben: We all love to hate him. He’s definately going to be one of those actors that I hate (love to hate) in anything I see him in after Lost. Kind of like the actor that played the Sheriff on Invasion. (man I hate that guy!)
    Sayid: You just gotta love the guy. He’s got that quiet intelligence. He’s a badass but doesn’t have to prove it to anyone.
    Like I said, these are probably the worst reasons to not kill someone off… but again… they’re why I like them.

  27. poopypants says:

    Andreas I argee she(Kate)does the “Crying” face well,along with the “Mad” face and “Sad” face,but truely,thoes are the only arrows in the quiver.Perhaps its the writers only giving her a few emotions to portray,I dont know.I agree she was great in season 1,avarage in season 2,and now in season 3 I find her totaly non belivable as an actress.When I watch anyone else I get lost in the story/show/preformance,but with her,to me,im just watching some person trying to to a job.Maybe its just me.Shes from my neck of the woods so I was really pulling for Her and her charater but im disapointed in what the writers did to “domesticate”her,so to speak.This is the same chick who is blowing people away inside held up banks,shes setting homes on fire with people inside,smashing special agents of the Federal Government in the face during escape atemps,now shes been “spade”.So in closing Andreas,I’ll watch her preformance close tonight but if find myself laughing at her when shes tring to be serious…. anyways.
    PS. Any thoughs on who dies tonight?,thoughts?

  28. Pam says:

    My three picks to survive:
    Locke: he’s intriguing, and has great potential to, if not get himself home, but to save everyone else who survives. Also he reminds me of one of my high school history teachers, and if Locke died it would be like axing the man who taught me about the Vietnam War…very sad.
    Jack: I want him to get out of the Other’s prision and get back to the Losties’ beach and find that Locke has taken many roles as leader, and life has moved on without him. Will he step down? Because we know deep down in his heart, he doesn’t like leading. Or will he deny that people are less apt to listen to him and fight for, not so much power, as leadership and people to trust him.
    Sun/Jin: I’m counting them together, because if one of them survives, the other should too. I really, really want Sun to have her baby, because of the apparent need for children with the Hostilies. What if Sun has her baby, and wait until it’s a little older, and snatch it and Aaron. That would be great plot development, not cool, but a little bit more interesting, because I want to know more about these “hostilies” and if these people took Walt, what happened to him during his “stay” with them.

    P.S.-Jack was going to be killed in the pilot? I can not imagen Lost without Jack!
    Also, this may just be me, and I may just be completely crazy, but: in season 2, Jack sees Ana Lucia for the first time (I think they were in the jungle) and he says (this is what I heard), “You.” He sounded surprised, like he recognized her, we then later learn that Ana Lucia and Jack’s dad have a nice conversation at a bar in Austrailia. So is it true that in Jack’s search for his dad did he meet Ana Lucia? Because when he first saw her I swear he said, “You”, and then they never acknowledged that they knew each other. Thoughts? Am I crazy?

  29. Tim says:

    I’m a big fan of Locke. I’m not quite sure I can put my finger on why other than he is so complex and mysterious. I’m not sure if anyone has written about this or not, but if you look at this website and read about the philosopher, John Locke, there seem to be many parallels.

    http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/locke/

  30. Andreas says:

    [quote comment=”13696″]
    P.S.-Jack was going to be killed in the pilot? I can not imagen Lost without Jack!
    Also, this may just be me, and I may just be completely crazy, but: in season 2, Jack sees Ana Lucia for the first time (I think they were in the jungle) and he says (this is what I heard), “You.” He sounded surprised, like he recognized her, we then later learn that Ana Lucia and Jack’s dad have a nice conversation at a bar in Austrailia. So is it true that in Jack’s search for his dad did he meet Ana Lucia? Because when he first saw her I swear he said, “You”, and then they never acknowledged that they knew each other. Thoughts? Am I crazy?[/quote]

    Ana-Lucia flirted with Jack in a bar just before they got on board Oceanic Flight 815, so you’re not crazy =)

    [quote comment=”13694″]Andreas I argee she(Kate)does the “Crying” face well,along with the “Mad” face and “Sad” face,but truely,thoes are the only arrows in the quiver.Perhaps its the writers only giving her a few emotions to portray,I dont know.I agree she was great in season 1,avarage in season 2,and now in season 3 I find her totaly non belivable as an actress.When I watch anyone else I get lost in the story/show/preformance,but with her,to me,im just watching some person trying to to a job.Maybe its just me.Shes from my neck of the woods so I was really pulling for Her and her charater but im disapointed in what the writers did to “domesticate”her,so to speak.This is the same chick who is blowing people away inside held up banks,shes setting homes on fire with people inside,smashing special agents of the Federal Government in the face during escape atemps,now shes been “spade”.So in closing Andreas,I’ll watch her preformance close tonight but if find myself laughing at her when shes tring to be serious…. anyways.
    PS. Any thoughs on who dies tonight?,thoughts?[/quote]

    The way I see it, Kate is a reluctant badass so to speak. She didn’t really want to kill her biologic father, she did it to protect her mother. The same thing goes for the fake robbery, she only did it to get hold of the toy plane because she had to do it for herself and Tom, who’s death she blames herself for.

    I agree that Kate has it in her to really kick some ass when she has to though and it’s a bit weird that she hasn’t been more hostile against The Others. Remember that Ben told her that the next few weeks were going to be hell. I’m quite convinced that they made some form of deal or Ben threatened Kate, and that’s why she has been taking it easy.

    I’m also pretty sure that we will find out what Kate and Ben talked about during their little breakfast in tonight’s episode, so hopefully we will know if my theory was right soon!

  31. poopypants says:

    Yes. The severe handcuff gouges/marks,she made a deal no doubt,but PLEASE Ms. Lily,mix in some of the 50 or 60 other human emotions into your facial expressions.
    PS.The audio podcast said this is there best episode yet,well see 🙂

  32. poopypants says:

    Well,so much for answers about cuff marks,I dont know why I would expect answers with this show.Overall a not too bad episode,fairly good really.

  33. Tim Hettler says:

    Castaways only seem to die when they reach some sort of redemption/self-actualisation. Which characters have the best chance to achieve that?

    On a purely realistic standpoint, Dominic Monaghan (Charlie) is too high-profile to stay on a show where he has nothing to do. Unless the writers make him more important, (which is hard, since there’s really nowhere to go with his character unless he starts using again ::yawn::) I doubt he’ll make it out of this season alive.

  34. Hmmm, only three eh?

    Here’s my list:

    1) Locke – Far and away the most interesting character, Locke is the only Lostie that not only has a real connection to what is going on on the island, he is the only one really trying to find out what it all means. Plus, we still don’t know how he got in the damn wheelchair!

    2) Sawyer – The guy you love to hate sure makes the show interesting. Plus now that he’s officially in love with Kate, it will be interesting to see how his character changes (if Pickett doesn’t just shoot him anyways)

    3) Sayid – I think ‘The Red Beret’ is underused of late. And he still has some serious anger issues to take out on the Others for their hand in Shannon’s death.

  35. Kelsey says:

    Only 3? Thats not very fair..

    1. Sawyer. I absolutely adore this man. Hes the guy you love to hate but recently hes just been the guy you love. Except for Jaters, I suppose.
    2. Locke. He is so mysterious, and I love all of his destiny stuff. Plus TOQ is an amazing actor.
    3. Michael. Okay, I know he isnt even on the show right now but I loved him with all my heart and soul and we were getting engaged and married and then we were gonna have kids and now hes gonnnnneeee!!! And I am in denial. But he’ll be back, and if they kill him I will be so angry.

    Honorable mentions to Sayid, Benry Gale, Mr Friendly, Sun, Claire and Desmond.

    The people who have to go:

    Jack and Kate. I know they wont but these are my two least favorite characters.

    Honorable mention: Charlie

  36. Julie says:

    1) Charlie, I know a lot of people don’t like him anymore but I still think he’s great. I think his character is yet to play an important part to the show, and I think that time will come soon. He still needs to prove he’s more than just a tag-a-long.

    2) Kate, she’s great – such a mysterious and dark character! And I doubt they’ll ever kill her off.

    3) Sayid! He’s such a fantastic character, I’d hate to see him killed off.

    That’s not saying I want people like Hurley or Sawyer to die, but I don’t have room for them and I basically think they’re pretty safe anyway.

  37. Rita says:

    [quote comment=”13696″]
    Also, this may just be me, and I may just be completely crazy, but: in season 2, Jack sees Ana Lucia for the first time (I think they were in the jungle) and he says (this is what I heard), “You.” He sounded surprised, like he recognized her, we then later learn that Ana Lucia and Jack’s dad have a nice conversation at a bar in Austrailia. So is it true that in Jack’s search for his dad did he meet Ana Lucia? Because when he first saw her I swear he said, “You”, and then they never acknowledged that they knew each other. Thoughts? Am I crazy?[/quote]

    Jack and Ana Lucia met at the airport and had a drink together.

  38. Rita says:

    #1 = Desmond
    #2 = Locke
    #3 = Sayid
    I loved Desmond’s character from the get go. “See you in your next life, brother” is surely a clue to his ending up on the island. I also identify with Locke’s quest to figure out what’s going on. He’s interested in the *island*, not just interested in staying alive. So I think he’s integral to the mythology. Kate is a tough cookie and though Lilly’s acting is so so, I’d hate to see Kate die. She’s a true equal to Jack, Sawyer, Sayid, etc.

  39. KillerR says:

    Sexy blue striped shirt girl should definatly stay. I mean, when she brought the wood over to burn the fusilage in season 1 was breath taking. :):):)

  40. jonno says:

    1. Locke. He established himself as the man early on when he threw that knife at Sawyer and taught a kid to play backgammon.Anyone who says otherwise clearly resents bald people.

    2. Ben. Michael Emerson is pretty damn rad in everything he’s in, and usually he makes his villains quite human as well. Something about him is horrifically watchable.

    3. Sawyer. If I ever have to sit through an episode where I don’t hear a deep-south nickname or witty jibe, I’ll do something drastic. Maybe write a letter (or post “I’ll never watch Lost again!” on forums although you just know I’d be back next week). Either way, he’s in the dark about a lot of things, just like us – and his reactions are priceless.

    You know what? I’m so bored of Jack and Kate. I don’t care that they’re meant to the two points of some love triangle – let’s just kill them off and be done with it. That said, playing the Psycho Boy Jack drinking game is good fun… if only Kate started making crazy faces to represent her emotions, she might be interesting. Shout-outs to Desmond and Hurley for both being awesome.

  41. hugo says:

    i want sun to die and thats all

  42. samsandrasan says:

    Three is hard because there are some characters I love and some actors I love. Hard to separate the two sometimes. But, trying hard to think of what’s best for the story, I would say:

    1. Desmond has to survive. I believe he is the real hero of the story.
    2. Hurley will survive to see why the hell the numbers messed with him and he will get past it and be happy.
    3. Claire will survive and raise her son to be a good man. Perhaps a man that will change the world.

    Other characters may or may not survive but they can go out as heroes (Locke, Sayid, Jack, Sawyer) and the story will still be strong. Still others can go out after having their own epiphanies and making good with the universe. But, those three I think should survive and carry on.

  43. Ally says:

    1-Jack
    2-Kate
    3-Juliet
    4-Alex
    5-Claire

  44. Ally says:

    i also think john locke should die

  45. icnivad odranoel says:

    I have to agree that killing off Sawyer would be the biggest mistakes that they could make. Not only is he a complex character, you do love to hate him but I think he’s the best character. I stated in another thread that I am waiting for him to have some sort of epiphany and become something better … but either way, he’s the Han Solo, reluctant hero type … he adds balance to Jack’s altruism. Plus … he and Kate are far more believable a couple than she and Jack.
    Jack just doesn’t have murder in his heart.

  46. icnivad odranoel says:

    Just an addendum … I have seen a lot of calls to end the lives of Sun and Jin. I don’t know. I mean, It would make sense … anytime something is going well romantically for a couple, it’s almost a sure sign that fate will intevene and return them to a state of misery.
    Kind of like horror films … only instead of having sex, it’s simply getting along well in your relationship. I really like Jin and Sun … though I’d put money on it that one of them will probably bite it soon. It would be terribly sad though … Sun is pregnant and Jin has turned around, is learning to communicate, and has formed strong bonds with some of the characters.
    I was kind of hoping that there was a bomb on that boat they sent Michael and Walt out on … Michael made a great antagonist but I would have been happy to see him die and it would be perfect irony if his kid had died after all of the backstabbing.

  47. Andreas says:

    I agree about Sawyer being the “Han Solo” character icnivad, nice analogy.

  48. Georgia says:

    Does anybody else feel this way?
    I really hope that the writers come up with stupendous deaths for Nikki and Paulo.
    They seem like the cheapest, throw-away, sex appeal- higher rating seeking, phoniest characters that have been introduced to the show yet.
    Please writers: You are talented, creative, innovative teleplay writers.. hurry and kill Nikki and Paulo.

    and may Eko R.I.P.

  49. Andreas says:

    At the time being I couldn’t agree with you more Georgia.

    We can only hope that the inclusion of Paulo and Nikki has some yet unknown purpose.

Comments are closed.