New timeslot for Lost

Variety reports that Lost will be moving to a new timeslot when the show returns February 7.

Lost’s usual timeslot has been Wednesdays at 9. From now on, ABC will be airing Lost on Wednesdays at 10 instead. The reason for the scheduling change is that in the old timeslot, Lost was competing against a certain show on Fox called “American Idol”.

The competition between the shows has caused a notable drop in ratings for Lost, so overall, I think the timeslot change is a good idea.

Read more at Variety

This entry was posted in Lost. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to New timeslot for Lost

  1. Erik says:

    Gee, that won’t lose them more viewers. I for one will not be staying up another hour later just to watch this show.

  2. KillerR says:

    And the hits just keep on comin’.

    What a load. That is going to kill this show. No one that watches American Idol watches lost. It’s not like the ratings have dropped that much.

  3. theOtherdave says:

    [quote comment=”17919″]And the hits just keep on comin’.

    What a load. That is going to kill this show. No one that watches American Idol watches lost. It’s not like the ratings have dropped that much.[/quote]

    Yeah but consider yourself a “surfer” and NOT a loyal Lost viewer. If you were trying to decide which show to watch at the old timeslot, and you clicked on ABC to see Lost, and you hadn’t kept up with the story you just might go watch American Idol instead-it doesn’t require any braincells to view.
    So I kinda get why they moved it. To try to ‘grab’ those viewers who otherwise would pass on the show. (Ehhh, maybe I’ve got that wrong.)
    I personally do not have a big problem with the move since I’m out west and it moves from 8pm to 9pm. Still within a reasonable time for me.
    Thank God it wasn’t moved from Wednesday!!!!!!
    Now THAT would’ve killed it.

  4. Pingback: JoshSpazBlog! » Blog Archive » It’s A Problem.

  5. Castaway03 says:

    Good for me, I don’t know about anybody else.

  6. FMGreenSteve says:

    This is great news! I feel like I just gained an hour every Wednesday to get more stuff done before I plop myself down in front of the boobtube.
    Good move ABC, for me at least.

  7. Maurice Tift says:

    10PM is a good LOST time for me. However, I’m worried about Day Break. The same Variety article says — “Day Break” will either be yanked after its Dec. 27 broadcast or moved to another night. No word on what will happen with the remaining five episodes of the skein, if ABC doesn’t move the show to a new night.

    I can see it moving to another night, but cancelling a short run mystery series just 5 episodes short of solving the mystery might make a few people angry. I really like the show and hope to watch it after December 27.

  8. Liz says:

    ABC really needs to stop messing around with Lost. Its bad enough we have to wait until Feb. but to now also have a new time slot is going to get people confused. I know they are trying to keep/gain viewers but they are just going to end up lossing them. If they have to cancel this show…I’m going to be really disappointed.

  9. Toeknee says:

    [quote comment=”17919″]And the hits just keep on comin’.

    What a load. That is going to kill this show. No one that watches American Idol watches lost. It’s not like the ratings have dropped that much.[/quote]
    I wouldn’t think that American Idol would attract the people who watch Lost either, but the Variety article specifically states that last January there was a notable drop in Lost’s ratings when American Idol started its season.

    My biggest problem with this move is that we will no longer be treated to an extra 5 or 10 minutes like we were with the 9 PM time slot. I don’t think the local stations would allow a network show to run past 11 PM and screw up their newscasts.

  10. MasterPo says:

    That’s what Tivo is for! (to record Idol of course)

  11. downthehatch says:

    I think this is really not a good idea. They should have thought of this before they decided to rearrange the schedule. The more I think about this new “work around” while watching Heroes run 11 back to back (Heck, even DH ran 10 straight) the more I think it wasn’t that great of an idea…or even needed for that matter. That while they said this was for the fans, it really was for the “casual fan” that they didn’t want to lose. Same goes for the “more romance and action” …similar pandering to keep those viewers that LOST isn’t geared for anyway from bleeding off (remember it is a CULT type show to begin and thus has fererent fans). This is also another attempt to keep those viewers that watch casually…who would normally watch AI to begin with. It’s time to start pandering to the hardcore, I think, and get back to business.

  12. BCKari says:

    Once again, ABC shows it’s brainpool. They take a show that is consistently rated in the top ten, and move it. But then again, I’ll just DVR it every week starting in February, and then I won’t have to buy the Season 3 box set like I did with Seasons 1 and 2. On the other hand, if the show really is moving to 10pm, maybe I’ll get my wish, and really get something to see next time they force Kate to take a shower….

  13. Bruce says:

    If DayBreak gets cancelled, will they run Repeats of Season 3 up to present and in turn defeat their reasoning for the break in the 1st place: no repeats?
    OR, do they have enough new episodes in the can that Season 3 can start again in December?

    [quote comment=”18070″]10PM is a good LOST time for me. However, I’m worried about Day Break. The same Variety article says — “Day Break” will either be yanked after its Dec. 27 broadcast or moved to another night. No word on what will happen with the remaining five episodes of the skein, if ABC doesn’t move the show to a new night.[/quote]

  14. Bud says:

    These are not a factor for us here in rural Alaska. Watching it on regular TV is like everything else, filled with stops for…..*….. What we did was order the first season and when we get done watching that, we will order the second season, etc. No * and no problem with time slots, we set our own. If we did want to watch the current episodes we would record them and watch them when the time is right. Come on folks?

  15. Hammer says:

    [quote comment=”18174″]These are not a factor for us here in rural Alaska. Watching it on regular TV is like everything else, filled with stops for…..*….. What we did was order the first season and when we get done watching that, we will order the second season, etc. No * and no problem with time slots, we set our own. If we did want to watch the current episodes we would record them and watch them when the time is right. Come on folks?[/quote]

    Not everyone has Tivo, not everyone has extra money to buy DVDs or recording equipment. They are relying on the fact that hard core fans will tune in no matter what and are hoping to get casual and new fans with the changes. Lost is a honey pot and they are riding the money.

  16. Mabry says:

    [quote comment=”17919″]And the hits just keep on comin’.

    What a load. That is going to kill this show. No one that watches American Idol watches lost. It’s not like the ratings have dropped that much.[/quote]
    I watch both shows 🙂
    Though I did always choose LOST over AI when Lost was actually airing a new episode last season, haha.

    [quote]That while they said this was for the fans, it really was for the “casual fan” that they didn’t want to lose. [/quote]
    I think you are exactly right- most of the non-casual fans will stay up and watch the show anyway, i imagine.

  17. patience says:

    I wouldnt worry about it to much i dont know if this is considered a spoiler but at the end of all those thirty second “lost moments” they show during day break its says lost will return feburary 7 at 9/8 central everytime.

  18. Julie says:

    [quote comment=”17919″]And the hits just keep on comin’.

    What a load. That is going to kill this show. No one that watches American Idol watches lost. It’s not like the ratings have dropped that much.[/quote]

    Okay.. so I watch American Idol and Lost.. so 😛
    However.. I would watch Lost and during the 1million commercial breaks flip over to American Idol.
    I think its a great idea to move it.
    Plus I have a little one who’s bed time is 730. Making sure that he is down by 800 (mountian time, AZ) is not always easy. It’s… home, dinner, bath, bed for him on Lost nights. Moving it to 900 makes my life and his life a lot easier.

  19. Andreas says:

    Here is what Damon Lindelof thinks of the new timeslot:

    “I personally am thrilled. Now I can watch American Idol without feeling guilty. Oh. Wait. I still feel guilty.”

    My personal take is that hopefully the move will improve Lost’s ratings. I don’t seriously believe that Lost is anywhere near being canceled, but more viewers never hurts when the ABC execs make decisions about which shows to keep producing.

  20. DHP says:

    First time commenter here. It should be worth nothing that 10pm is also when safe harbor starts on FCC regulated (read: broadcast) media. Sows are typically pushed back to a 10pm spot for content reasons as well. This could actually bode well for Lost.

  21. Ally says:

    o great, 10. now i have to watch it on ABC’s website on Thursdays. fun…

  22. KillerR says:

    It just sucks because i live on the east coast and that means im up until 11pm when i have to get up @ 5am to go to work. Taping it isn’t an option because i can’t wait another whole day to get my lost fix.

  23. Monica says:

    I found a great LOST video:
    -For sharper image go to
    http://abc.go.com/primetime/lost/index
    and click on ‘Video’, look down about 5 inches and it’s one of the videos you can select. Sometimes I can’t Find it.

    -You can also find it on YouTube:

    I don’t know what’s better, the video or the music. It’s really, really great!!!!

  24. Pingback: Reality TV Blog » American Idol News

Comments are closed.