Lost cast upset at fragmented storylines

There was an article in the Honolulu Advertiser a while back which never came to my attention until recently.

In the article, Naveen Andrews, Lost’s Sayid, explained that several of the original cast members of Lost are a bit upset that their characters aren’t getting as much screen time as they used to:

…Andrews said he and other cast members have been dismayed at the sporadic work they’ve been given this season, a product of the show’s fragmented storylines. Andrews’ screen time in particular has been noticeably diminished in the six episodes broadcast so far.

“It certainly becomes a drain,” Andrews said. “It has upset a lot of cast members. If this is the way it’s going to be, I don’t know if the viewers — or us — can sustain it.

“I honestly feel that if the audience isn’t given more than extraneous clues, we’re going to dip somehow,” he said. “The first season was truly unusual, but now we’re becoming just another show.”

Part of the problem, Andrews said, is that ABC has had “more input” this season.

In one way I understand and agree with Naveen, it kinda sucks that we haven’t seen more of the characters we know and love since the first season, and the addition of Paulo and Nikki didn’t help to solve the problem. It would be great to find out more about Claire and the psychic, and everyone wants to see more of Rose and Bernard (when was the last time we saw them?).

On the other hand, the story has to move forward and if Ben, Juliet and the Others hadn’t been introduced through Ethan’s appearance among the losties in the first season, Lost would still be a show about a bunch of people trying to survive on an island only inhabited by a couple of polar bears and boars. That would be like Survivor… with polar bears.

Anyway, what I want to say is that Lost is a great show and a big part of what makes Lost appealing are the twists and unexpected turns. With that said, I think ABC should leave the creative decisions to Damon and the writers, because it is their story and I hardly think they need someone to hold their hand.

This entry was posted in Lost. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lost cast upset at fragmented storylines

  1. Tim says:

    I think it’s fairly obvious that the story is going towards Jack, Kate and Sawyer being reunited with the rest of the cast (probably the season finale, involving Locke and Sayid kicking some Other-ass).

    This may also be a subtle way of the writer’s figuring out which characters are “expendable” and which ones they should spend more time developing, based on which characters the views are complaining about not seeing. (Read: kill Charlie)

  2. Maurice Tift says:

    I think if an actor appears in an episode, he has to be paid at least scale. I’m sure it’s less expensive to make an episode with fewer actors.

  3. William says:

    When I saw previews for the pilot of Lost, I thought how in the world can they sustain this story more than one season. They do it by introducing mysteries and new characters, the Others and new locations.

    But the core characters need to remain involved. Those are the ones we are invested in. We’ve learned that Sayid has the smarts, the skills and the muscle to contend with anything (ok, the sailboat plan was a bit dumb). And, quite frankly, with whatever “frightening thing in the jungle” the Losties will have to contend with this season, I’d rather rely on Sayid than say Nikki. Sure, she may develop into some amazing character, but for now, she’s simply cute and perky – we don’t know enough about her.

    It’s already a fairly large ensemble cast and they’ve already replaced many of the core characters. I want my investment in Sayid and the other main characters to pay off.

  4. Pingback: Walt Disney World Vacation Info » LOST: What happened to the rest of the cast?

  5. Not everyone wants to see more of Rose and Bernard. I find their plotline extraneous at best. Filler is a better word.

    But man do I agree with you on the Paulo and Nikki bit. They could go right back to being part of the faceless background 30 or so’s that they came out of, and I’d be just fine with it.

  6. Dusk says:

    Andreas, this is the type of content that works.

  7. Lost Damery says:

    I agree they have diluted the ability to stay with a story…except Jack who they were going to kill in the Pilot. I think this is a case of biting off more than you can chew and the idea is probably great in a Novel like Lord of the rings where you can drag on forever, but in a short show you need short stories and Lost is lost in too many short stories.
    I would rather they follow Sayid and Locke than the group on Alcatraz island…like.
    My grandfather use to tell me everything you need to know is in the first chapter, and I think they should have known when the viewers said not to kill off jack that was a sign that they were writing too fragmented of stories. then again what do I know … just a fan.
    I am becoming more of a Heroes fan but LOST may be able to bring me back.

  8. military payday says:

    best site of its kind 🙂

  9. Por favor, ¿puede PM y decirme cuantas más piensa en esto, estoy muy fan de tu blog Publica …

Comments are closed.