It's back to basics when Lost returns says Daniel Dae Kim

Daniel Dae Kim

Over at Sci Fi Wire there is a little interview with Daniel Dae Kim, who plays Jin on Lost. In the interview, Daniel says that when Lost returns next month, the show will get back to basics and move focus from Jack, Sawyer and Kate back to the entire cast.

“We went from an ensemble show to one that focused on a smaller number of characters. So for a lot of us, it’s meant having more free time than we originally thought. But now it’s changing again, and we’re getting back to the island, and we’re finding a rhythm.”

I really enjoyed the first episodes of season 3, but like I’ve written before, it will be nice to see more of the other characters too, so this is good news.

Daniel also talks a bit about what we can expect from the Jin/Sun relationship and comments on the ever recurring rumors about Lost character deaths:

“Our show for some reason has taken on this mystery of who’s going to die next,” he said “And I’m not sure how that happened or why it’s happening. And I’m hoping that it doesn’t become the main focus of what the audience is looking for.”

While I love the concept of knowing that every single character on Lost might die when you least expect it, I wouldn’t say that it’s what makes me watch Lost since there is so much more to the show. What it does though, is to increase the intensity and sense of real danger.

If we didn’t know that any character could suddenly die, scenes like the one where Pickett was going to shoot Sawyer wouldn’t have as much impact since any other show wouldn’t even toy with the idea of killing such a popular character.

Needless to say, I don’t want any of the characters to die (alright, maybe Paulo) since I really like them, but knowing that we might loose them adds to the reality and the quality of Lost.

This entry was posted in Lost. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It's back to basics when Lost returns says Daniel Dae Kim

  1. Tanner says:

    I would have to agree with Daniel. I hope it dosent become the theme of the show. I don’t remeber anyone watching star wars or lord of the rings worried about which character would be offed next.

Comments are closed.