Heroes has Lost it

Nathan Petrelli on Heroes

Besides the cameo by Spider-man creator Stan Lee as a bus driver, the latest episode of Heroes had a few funny nods to Lost that I just couldn’t ignore.

First, when Mohinder and Sylar were entering the motel, it was briefly visible that Mohinder was staying in room 23. 23 being one of Hurley’s numbers and according to some, the most important number in the cursed series.

Later in the episode, Simone confronts Nathan and asks him to go public with the powers he and Peter have mysteriously gained. Nathan’s reply is the last in a line of friendly nods toward Lost:

Nathan: If people knew what we were capable of, they would drop a collective brick.

Simone: Do you think they would burn you at the stake?

Nathan: Yeah, pretty much. Because that’s what I would do. I’d round us all up, stick us in a lab, or on some island in the middle of the ocean.

Should we make it a regular feature to spot connections between Lost and Heroes? Would anyone be interested in a separate site focusing on Heroes?

This entry was posted in Lost. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Heroes has Lost it

  1. Martijn says:

    I don’t watch heroes… but if i did (and i probably will catch up in a matter of time) i would like that feature. Although i shouln’t post a news item about it every week, but make some kind of subpage or link to it.

  2. Damien says:

    If you want any help with a Heroes site I would love to help out as I love that show as well as Lost…I do my sum ups on my blog but would love to post them elsewhere πŸ™‚

  3. AnotherOther says:

    “The Office” has mentioned “Lost” a few time also. But much more blatant. When visiting the warehouse Dwight compares it to meeting The Others on Lost. And when asking Ryan some training questions he throws in “What is the Dharma Initiative?”

  4. Andreas says:

    AnotherOther, I’ve never watched The Office, but that sounds so funny, haha =)

  5. Jeff says:

    Heroes rocks – sometimes I think it’s *gasp* better than Lost, but in reality, they are very similar shows.

  6. Mark says:

    I don’t know how often they’ve done this, but I do recall reading that Tim Kring is a fan of Lost and friends with Lindelof. Another reference took place the prior week: Nikki/Jessica had a Gannon Car Rental packet in her hand… the same rental company in Lost.

    It might be fun to track future connections, I imagine there will be more to come.

  7. Matthew says:

    I spotted those two things also.

    Does everyone think the Gannon thing is a co-incidence?

  8. mike says:

    heroes is so lame. please do not mention this on the lost blog or i will be forced to go somewhere else for lost items.

  9. Julie says:

    I think, personally, that it would be cool to have a reoccuring thread on here about Lost references on Heroes.
    As most of you know, I’m an avid Lost fan and my boyfriend is an avid Heroes fan. With the help of this site Rob has really grown to like Lost and Heroes has really grown on me.
    Anyhow, I think it would be cool to be able to try and see how many Rob and I can catch on Monday nights and them compare them to a list posted here.
    BTW… yay.. its Lost night!

  10. Julie says:

    Oh.. btw… talking about room 23 on Heroes… Carl was in room 23 being ‘brainwashed’ or whatever it was.

  11. downthehatch says:

    What’s funny is LOST fans call it a reference and those against LOST call it a dig.

  12. danielle says:

    I’d love it. I’m a fan of both! I’ve been looking for a *good* blog (like this one) on heroes… haven’t found one yet!

  13. theOtherdave says:

    Go for it Andreas!!!!
    A link to ‘all things Heroes’ would be fun. I also love Heroes as much as Lost. They both drive me crazy with each episode. The only thing that makes me smile/laugh to myself is on Heroes, I see it as a never ending collection of mutants week in-week out with an ever so slow (snail’s pace) to finding out how they all got their powers at the same time(?).
    πŸ™‚ I think if I actually had a “life” outside of watching TV, I would be less frustrated with these 2 shows. Heh -heh!
    —-
    I also caught the comment about the island in the middle of an ocean and had to laugh knowing about the relationship between the 2 creators of these shows.

  14. LOSTbean says:

    yes! drawing parallels between the 2 shows could be fun! πŸ™‚

  15. spinpapi says:

    I vote YES. Heroes is the only heavily LOST-influenced new show with a soul of its own, and spotting the mutual love between the two can only add to the fun here.

    =]

  16. shauna says:

    I think it’s a great idea. They are the 2 main shows that I watch and I always look for things like this. The only 2 websites I check on a regular basis are this blog and heroesrevealed.com which is another great blog that also doesn’t include spoilers. It’s surprisingly difficult to find non-spoilery sites these days. It seems that back in the “Buffy” days, spoilers were a rare thing. (sorry i went off topic there)

  17. AnotherOther says:

    I don’t watch Heroes, but I think having a section that talks about Lost’s impact/influence/reference on ANY other shows would be cool.

  18. Tim Adler says:

    Truely, a Lost-Heroes connection would be the most terrific story-line ever created in Television history. I can’t remember any two series ever connect really, if you take out obvious ones like Star Trek and those that openly play in the some universe.

    I personally would love to have them really connect the. But gently. Let people in doubt. Make it the one big thing that even tops “The Others”, “The Explosion” and the “The Organisation/Dharma” that is perhaps even one!

  19. DJ says:

    You gotta be kidding. Just because Nathan says “island” and a room has the same # as another show and you think it’s an homage to Lost? Truly you people have waaay too much time on your hands.

  20. harkel says:

    I’m suprised to see that noone has mentioned (what I can find anyway) the connecting to the new Jim Carrey-movie “The Number 23”, in which the entire story centers around … well, the number 23 πŸ˜€

  21. ClovieD says:

    LOST and Heroes are the only two shows i get to watch regularly, no interruptions, without fail, anymore. i thought i’d go nutso when they were on hiatus, lol. i’d love a site that would show the cross-references and such, to point out the things i miss. Glad to see it’s not my crazy head that has these two shows mentioning things. i didn’t know of the link between the creators, so it makes sense that the shows are similar, and both so darn good. Though i was a bit miffed that i missed the 3 big answers to the 3 big questions. Can anyone tell me what they were? Other than that the kids were taken to watch, which is the closest i can get to a suposed answer. Maybe i’m just overstressed from work and can’t concentrate on trying to decipher. Looking forward to hearing ya’lls take on last night.

  22. Ric says:

    The question is looming: is 23 the new 42?

  23. braha says:

    LOST: Desmond’s “best friend” / “physics professor”

    &

    HEROES: Mohinder’s “best friend” / “phsysics professor”

    Are they the same actor??? (they are both an Indian-looking man with glasses and a thick goatee)

  24. Pam says:

    [quote comment=”40919″]I’m suprised to see that noone has mentioned (what I can find anyway) the connecting to the new Jim Carrey-movie “The Number 23″, in which the entire story centers around … well, the number 23 :D[/quote]
    [quote comment=”40984”]The question is looming: is 23 the new 42?[/quote]
    I mentioned The movie The Number 23 on a link after the episode that showed the tortue room 23 (I forget what link and what epidsode). As for the movie I can’t say much because I haven’t seen it (I plan to though), but as for the number 23 itself, I think it’s an opposite 42. I don’t know where it originanted, but someone before the movie was created must have become paranoid over the number 23, because there are a few (maybe many) who are, and my friend is one of them. She did research and found she’s not alone, therefore I don’t think the number 23 is like the number 42 at all. The number 42 is the answer to the meaning of life, and the number 23 makes people paranoid, and makes them create and scary movie. That probably doesn’t make any sense, sorry.

  25. thwidra says:

    Should we make it a regular feature to spot connections between Lost and Heroes? Would anyone be interested in a separate site focusing on Heroes?

    I would read it, too. πŸ™‚

  26. Pam says:

    About “The Number 23”, it got horrible reviews, and I am happy I decided not to see it.

  27. Andreas says:

    [quote comment=”41052″]LOST: Desmond’s “best friend” / “physics professor”

    &

    HEROES: Mohinder’s “best friend” / “phsysics professor”

    Are they the same actor??? (they are both an Indian-looking man with glasses and a thick goatee)[/quote]

    Yes, they are played by the same actor Shishir Kurup

  28. Steve says:

    Try this one on for size (and if you missed this, I’d end any aspirations toward private eye if I were you): Tonight, we found out that Jack’s dad is also Claire’s? Gimme a break! Seems WAY too obvious now (the connection). I IMMEDIATELY thought about the Petrellis and Nathan’s connection to Claire (forget the “Claire-Claire” thing; now THAT would be considered coincidence). And the beauty of it is: I wasn’t even LOOKING for this connection. Until I read a couple of articles (including this original post) tonight AFTER I saw the latest episode, I hadn’t even heard of the Lost/Heroes connection theory. I feel like Richard Dreyfuss in “Close Encounters” (weird huh?).

    I guess the next question is WHY? Why are these two shows’ separate producers/writers (albeit there are friends among the key creators of both shows) doing this? Is it all in good fun? Are we living in the Matrix (control, Neo)? What gives?

  29. Steve says:

    Oh, and my wife’s name is… Ronnie (and she, too, thinks I’m crazy for thinking the two shows are connected somehow). Not kidding! I’ll be building that giant Devil’s Tower in my living room in NO TIME! (But I’m charging admission)

Comments are closed.