Welcome to Othersville

Lost's Jack in Othersville

I’m not gonna say “I told you so”, but right now I’m pretty happy about the fact that my theory about Jack joining The Others, which I came up with back in October, is turning out to be correct:

My guess is that Jack will gradually learn who The Others are and why they are on the island. After some time he will come to understand their objectives and even sympathize with them.

When Kate, Locke and Sayid finally come to save Jack (come on, you know it will happen), I’m not so sure that Jack will want to be saved anymore.

Now we know that Jack is with The Others, and from the looks of it, he seems quite happy. The question is if he is playing along in hopes to find a chance to escape, or if he is really starting to sympathize with The Others.

One possibility could be that he is trusting Ben’s promise to let him go home, but considering that Juliet said that she hasn’t been allowed to leave the island, I’d say Jack’s chances are slim. Unless he has found a new home in Othersville that is.

What are your thoughts?

This entry was posted in Lost. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Welcome to Othersville

  1. patience says:

    Micheal Emerson said a while back in an interview that “anytime a leader is down and can’t lead the pack a powerplay for leadership occurs” or something along the lines of that, I think you are right andreas I too believe Jack will join the others. Wouldn’t that be weird by the end of the show if jack does join the others then eventually gets back with kate and they die and are laid to rest in the caves with the those white and black stones in their pockets and then bam show starts over and flight 815 crashes and they have to do it all over again. maybe thats a little off the wall but would be a good ending.

  2. patience says:

    Andreas,

    Im not sure if you ever watch episode promos or not I usually dont but the canadian promo for Man from tallahassee is very intresting.

  3. lol says:

    yeah it’s pretty easy to figure stuff out when you read spoilers.

  4. Holchadolcha says:

    Love your theory, Patience!

  5. whatif says:

    Andreas,

    I am with you 100% regarding Jack’s reincarnation into the Othersville, although I do question his genuineness. While the last moments (Jack playing football) of last night’s episode had an effect on me that was similar to when I saw the first 5 minutes of season three (when we saw Juliet and the book club), I have to admit that I am disappointed by how soon Jack’s “Other-ification” happened. I mean it’s been a a couple of days since Sawyer and Kate returned, which means that Jack was livid at the other’s laws, arrogance, attitude only hours ago and now, all of a sudden, Jack is living happily ever after chasing a ball with Tom? Considering what we know about Jack from his character development to date, I’d like to believe that he is only putting on a show to achieve a more subtle agenda, otherwise I’ll discredit all character development achieved to date.

  6. Meg says:

    Patchy said that Locke was angry, not just the paralysis thing.

  7. Andreas says:

    [quote comment=”44697″]Andreas,

    Im not sure if you ever watch episode promos or not I usually dont but the canadian promo for Man from tallahassee is very intresting.[/quote]

    I try to stay away from the episode promos since I prefer to see the “very interesting” parts in the actual episodes.

    [quote comment=”44698″]yeah it’s pretty easy to figure stuff out when you read spoilers.[/quote]

    I’m sure it is, but I don’t read spoilers so I wouldn’t know.

  8. Jocco says:

    I’m pretty sure that Patchy said that Locke’s flaw was anger. Anger and stubborness have caused him problems several times, on and off the island.

  9. downthehatch says:

    All hopes of leaving the island will be dashed once Locke destroys the sub. For him, it’s all about staying on the island. Too bad they didn’t take John, he’d be really happy living with the Others. He’d also make a great Dharma workman…which I suspect he may be.

  10. Joel says:

    We are all thinking that Patchy was about to say “paralyzed”. Could he instead have been going to say something else: paranoid, paraplegic (same idea as paralyzed), paranormal… A clever trick by the writers?

  11. cog says:

    LostinNY–

    You’ll need to watch the episode again, because he definitely tells Locke that he’s not on the list because he’s angry.

    Then after that, Sayid says something like “you guys aren’t as omniscient as you think you are,” and Patchy says, “You’re right, I’ve never met you before Sayid, or you Kate, but I’ve definitely met you before, John Locke.” Then he goes into the thing about how he was para–

    Just to be clear.

  12. shawdawg32 says:

    i think the french woman is an other, if not, she was once one. How could she not know about hatches, otherville if she been on the island for 16 years like she said.

  13. Meg says:

    I found it interesting how Patchy told Locke that he knew him. When he was talking to Sayid and Kate, he used their full names and said that he didn’t know them, which I think shows that he has seen (through the Others) and read file about them. But he says that he KNEW John. I think, because of that comment, he had met Locke at some point before this last incounter. Perhaps he himself did the research on Locke and not the others, therefore he would have the feeling of KNOWING him. Or he actually knew him off the Island.

  14. Hammer says:

    [quote comment=”44750″]i think the french woman is an other, if not, she was once one. How could she not know about hatches, otherville if she been on the island for 16 years like she said.[/quote]

    shawdawg32 – See the Who Is Danielle Rousseau? thread. There’s an excellent debate going on there.

  15. stormclouds13 says:

    While it could be that he is putting up a facade in order to gain trust and find a way to escape, somehow I think the Others are too smart to believe that, especially when it has only been a few days.

    We know the brainwashing facility is on the other island, and he was still pretty angry when they put him in the boat with Ben, so I think we can safely assume he hasn’t been brainwashed. But why would the Others now let him roam free around their homes when they kept him in the bear cage on the other island and he had been so angry right before they left? A fast switch in attitude like that would be obviously fake to me, both on the part of Jack and the Others.

    So maybe they knew Kate, Locke and Sayid were coming and what we witnessed in Othersville is just a play for them to try to get them to lose hope and turn back? Or could the Others have revealed something to Jack that was so amazing and true that he turned to their side immediately?

    The only other thing I can think of is that he was in on it all along per Jacob’s plan and everything from the very beginning of the show was just his part in the manipulation of the Losties and the lesser Others, Ben being the only other person really “in the know.” But somehow this seems less likely to me.

  16. stormclouds13 says:

    Ok, here’s something that just occurred to me and is totally out of left field, but…could Jack possibly be Jacob? Yes, there would be some definite problems with the timeline, but we know that time isn’t necessarily an issue on the island. We don’t know if any of the Others have actually seen Jacob.

  17. mikey says:

    maybe patchy was involved in locke’s paralysis

  18. stormclouds13 says:

    LostinNY, maybe that time manipulation has already happened. Maybe when Jack saw Christian in the jungle way back in season one, that was part of the time manipulation. Maybe Christian is alive in Othersville and he and Jack have reconciled. Maybe Jack went back and fixed everything with his ex-wife, too, and now they’re all living happily ever after!

    …and the only person who can change it is Claire. Ooh!

  19. Hammer says:

    That would have been wild if he was tossing the football with his dad.

  20. lostbc says:

    heres my thoughts/prediction on jack and the others…i think at this point he’s just trying to make the best of a bad situation, “fake” friendliness,” go with the flow, etc. However, i predict in the future (May sweeps perhaps?) he’s going to have to make a severe choice between the losties and the others (juliet and kate perhaps?) and he’s going to choose the side of the others…and that will be his official crossover to the “dark side” (or the “light side”…good vs. evil? its all still relative at this point)

  21. Hammer says:

    Aha…so Sawyer is Han Solo and Jack is Anakin Skywalker?

  22. dicam says:

    [quote comment=”44798″]Aha…so Sawyer is Han Solo and Jack is Anakin Skywalker?[/quote]

    Ha Ha Ha,

    And Hurley is Chewy, and r2d2 is . . . Charlie?
    And Kate, of course, is princess Layla.

  23. FMGreenSteve says:

    [quote comment=”44802″]…And Kate, of course, is princess Layla.[/quote]

    That’s Leia, not Layla. =)

  24. dicam says:

    [quote comment=”44803″][quote comment=”44802″]…And Kate, of course, is princess Layla.[/quote]

    That’s Leia, not Layla. =)[/quote]

    Sorry, you’re right. It’s the Clapton influence.

  25. Nash says:

    I think he’s playing the Others like a fiddle. He’s the one man who can out-con the con-man at poker. I don’t for a minute believe that he’s enjoying the happy life in Othersville unless he was brainwashed (ala Karl) or drugged (ala Claire).

  26. Makeshift says:

    When I took a look at the “Patch man Para…” scene again I came up with two ideas.
    Ever since the french chick has been tagging along with SAyid and the gang, she has been acting really strange. IT feels to me like whatever she suggests or wants to do, is totally opposite of what SAyid, KAte and Locke want to do. Not only did she bluntly interrupt PAtchy from finishing his speech. She suggested many times, lets just kill him, and she disapeared for a few hours couple episodes back. Im thinking she doesnt want him to talk/reveal anything.

    And someone with a better internet connection than me has to go and look at Lock’s flashbacks when he was in a chair, to see if we recognize that guy.

    srry if this is wrong topic

  27. Kegnation says:

    I think Jack’s dad is the leader patchy was refering to. Jack’s dad has some sort of tie to almost everyone that was on the plane. I think somehow Jack’s dad is very high up if not the leader of the Darma Initiative. Not everything fits, but too much ties back to Jack’s dad. He may be still alive. If he is dead, he at least is directly involved with the island. Thoughts?

  28. Kegnation says:

    I think Jack’s dad may be the leader that patchy was refering too. If you think about it, Jack’s dad has some sort of tie to most people on the plane. Too many roads lead back to him for him not to be involved with the Darma Initiative. Maybe Jack found out some information about his dad and that is why he looked happy. Jack’s dad may still even be alive. If not, he is at least involved somehow. Thoughts?

  29. Hammer says:

    [quote comment=”44811″]I think he’s playing the Others like a fiddle. He’s the one man who can out-con the con-man at poker. I don’t for a minute believe that he’s enjoying the happy life in Othersville unless he was brainwashed (ala Karl) or drugged (ala Claire).[/quote]

    I tend to agree Nash. Your refs. are good, but I am always skeptical of first impressions with Lost too. Very often things are not what they look like.

  30. Makeshift says:

    YO I havent even considered that JAck’s Father could be connected to the island. IS there a better explanation on why He was not in the coffin when JAck opened it. People say that the Vision JAck saw of his father in the suit on the island could have been from the Black Smoke.

  31. Makeshift says:

    I like how they tied up one of Ana Lucia’s Flashbacks. BEcuase right when I saw Claire’s Aunt and JAcks Dad in the same room. My mind whent right to that night where Ana-Lucia stays in the car and Jack’s FAther ruins trough the rain to some house and argues with this woman.

  32. shauna says:

    I also like the idea of Christian being connected to the people on the island. Would someone with a better memory than me be willing to do a breakdown of who all he has been connected to? I’ve got jack and claire, ana lucia and sawyer, but it seems like there’s more.

    Also, how did Locke get that dynamite? How did he know it was there and how did he get down to the basement without anyone noticing? I didn’t see it anywhere else. Can’t wait to see what his connection to patchy is (hopefully next week).

  33. patience says:

    [quote comment=”44701″]Love your theory, Patience![/quote]

    Yeah its a little out there that would be cool if at least 50% of it happened like that.
    [quote comment=”44717″][quote comment=”44697″]Andreas,

    Im not sure if you ever watch episode promos or not I usually dont but the canadian promo for Man from tallahassee is very intresting.[/quote]

    I try to stay away from the episode promos since I prefer to see the “very interesting” parts in the actual episodes.

    I hear ya, I try not to as well but I couldn’t resist a John Locke one, they are always such good episodes. Damn my flaws.

  34. LostDamery says:

    I think Jack is not an other but realizes he is in the loop of Daybreak and can relax because he will get another chance to fix things and that makes him happy.
    He will lead the losties along because he now understands they are not on the list!

  35. Jacque & Bray says:

    About Locke’s paralysis… what are the chances that Jack’s dad was involved somehow.. like surgery gone wrong during his drinking days. Everyone on this island has some type of connection with at least one lostie… maybe this is how?

    What about Claire and Jack being half brother and sister… where is this going? That was a cool twist to the story.

  36. LOL_LIAR says:

    [quote comment=”44698″]yeah it’s pretty easy to figure stuff out when you read spoilers.[/quote]

    I’m sure it is, but I don’t read spoilers so I wouldn’t know.[/quote]

    Then why when referring to an EW article a month ago you said it was “very spoilery”?

  37. Andreas says:

    [quote comment=”44833″]
    Then why when referring to an EW article a month ago you said it was “very spoilery”?[/quote]

    Alright, I stand corrected. I TRY to avoid reading spoilers but sometimes it turns out that an article you thought would be free from spoilers isn’t, but I honestly try not to read spoilers since I feel that they spoil the experience.

    I’m glad to see that you are a regular reader and it’s good that you guys keep an eye on me, but if you seriously feel that this is of that much importance please send me a mail.

  38. poopypants says:

    So after watching Locke push ole’ Patchy into the “Fence o Death” I couldn’t help comming back to the time where he was raising a rifle to the back of an undercover police officer in the episode where John was on the farm growing weed,and the debate at the time was Locke wouldn’t have the stones to shoot the Nark,remember?Well after this episode you can fairly bet he shot him,thoughts?

  39. poopypants says:

    … and how the flight attendent that told Jack they were there to “watch”,whatching what?,who?,why?,where have they been? …This looks like the show is gaining some steam again,great stuff.

  40. dr_candlewick says:

    Interesting ideas. I think that the writers on the show have been pretty consistent with the personality of the characters. Following that line of thinking, Jack has consistently seemed to have some issues with authority or people taking authority, (e.g. his father, locke, sayid). I can’t really see him falling in line with the others. Even if he did for some reason want to, he would start stirring up trouble there, challenging their authority. Also, from a clinical standpoint, what is going on there is so close to cult, I would think that he would not take part in it if he was of a good frame of mind.

    As far as him and Tom throwing the football, I am not that surprised. Tom has been the only other that has come across as being straightforward, and not having an agenda. I think Jack probably has some respect for him after what happened during the surgery, and is the only one he feels he can come anywhere close to trusting.

    My guess is that Jack has mentally separated himself from the other losties, and is looking forward to returning home. He has done everything that he can do for them. His tie with Kate has been cut, and he is moving on like he has in his other relationships.

    I can see him possibly becoming an other, but not without brainwashing or being given significant proof (which would be difficult as he is pretty skeptical of the supernatural).

  41. LostFreak says:

    Haven’t we seen Claire’s aunt leslie before? She looks a lot like the woman Sawyer conned in the Long Con…also could Mikhail know all that stuff about Locke because he controled the smoke monster? Please let me know what you think!

  42. losty says:

    I think we all need to watch the pilot episode again(I haven’t got it so haven’t watched it recently)!
    The way this show is written shows how the writers refer back to previous episodes in the most sneaky of ways, with clues that aren’t obvious untill the next season. if it wasn’t for sites like this I don’t think that i would’ve remembered half of it.
    My big theory is that in the pilot episode, when the aftermath of the crash is shown; several weeks have passed since the crash and the “others/dharma” have had a period of time with the losties to find out their information ie. locke being para…. and then erased their memory(maybe this didn’t work with Desmond) using electromagnetics. Maybe Ethan did spinal surgery on Locke so he could walk and then brainwashed him- or maybe it was Jack!
    I honestly think that the losties have been on the island for a lot longer than they think that they have.
    Will someone please comment on this because maybe I have missed something and are “barking up the wrong tree”!

    Sorry, i have also posted this comment in the par avion episode page

  43. Lesley says:

    I am in complete agreement with candlewick. Jack knows the Others have lied, kidnapped, set the boat on fire, left Charlie hanging in a tree, snatched Claire,killed one of the tailies, imprisoned him in a glass bowl and Kate and Sawyer in a cage, all the while keeping everyone in the dark about their grand and “good” plan. He knows about their manipulations and videos cameras. What did Cindy say and Patchy too, I think? “Its complicated”! Complicated????? Is that what you call it? I am sure that Jack thinks it is BS, but we know he will go to great lengths to ferret out a truth…. following his father and his wife around and always seeking to create miracle…… He provided Kate and Sawyer with a way out of Alcatraz and saved Juliet from certain death at the hands of the Other’s grand inquisition. (That is what Cindy’s crew came to “watch” I believe.) And he did seem to be greatly affected when he saw Juliet’s branded lower back. Remember he proclaimed that he was going to make Ben keep his promise with Juliet’s help? No doubt he will and he is cooking a plan to do so. He is a better con than Sawyer too right? Do the Others know that?? The visual was certainly arresting seeing him smiling and playing football but like candlewick said, Tom seems to be a personable and forthright guy so realxing around him is probably not hard and exercise probably helps jack clear his head. And doesn’t Jack need more allies? Actually I loved Tom’s line to Jack” What kind of people do you think we are?” That was classic! I doubt that Jack wants help from the Losties and would prefer to fix it all by himself. He tends to be self-rightous when it comes to acting out a plan. In his mind, Kate and Sawyer have bonded he saved them and he now has Juliet to rescue. Not to mention finding a way out for all the island’s inhabitants. What better way then to schmooze Ben and win over his people? I am really loving how the story has come together these last few weeks. I have a feeling we are in for a very wild ride!

  44. losty says:

    Didn’t make it clear in my comment above – I think that the crash sites were staged – or at least the losties were returned to them weeks later to “wake up”
    Who is left from the tail section of the plane? is this an actor situation or important to the plot. Or were they all others!

  45. XtraCripsy says:

    [quote comment=”44866″]
    I honestly think that the losties have been on the island for a lot longer than they think that they have.[/quote]

    You’re right. With each episode, you can either talk about what’s happening at the moment (what’s Jack really doing in Othersville), or you can try to solve the big puzzle (what really happened with the plane crash).

    I think that the producers are making sure that essential clues to solving the big puzzle are left out. Instead, we’re diverted to clues that might not really matter but keep our interest anyway (why does Patchy like Nadia Commanche a Romanian and not Olga Korbuttinsky a Russian?).

    Added to this is the realization that Dez appears to have been through the island experience at least 4 times: Charlie dies by lightning, by trying to save Claire during her swim, by trying to catch seabirds by the rocks, and the present(?)

    Remember how Walt seemed to be a crucial character to the story? Wot hoppened?

    The understanding given to us by the producers is that the crash is not what it appeared to be–of course it can’t be. I agree that there is some disconnect between what appeared to happen to the plane and how the Losties wound up on the island, happy and healthy (and every now and then seeing a vision from their past).

    I think ultimately the series will show the Losties as responsible for saving dear old planet Terra, unless global warming takes over, thereby redeeming themselves for all the f’ed up things they did in the real world.

    You know they’re gonna win, even if they, like the viewing audience, don’t know the rules of the game.

    One additional point: It seems the way this series is going, research into genetics and reproduction is considered necessarily evil. This is a very conservative viewpoint that I wouldn’t expect for a show produced in the 21st century.

  46. XtraCripsy says:

    I don’t think the Others/Hostiles know that much. If you were the one who set them up on this island, how much would you reveal to them? You might tell them they were the best people going, while you gave them instructions to hatch your plan.

    They sure make for good episodes, but they probably don’t know what the master plan is. Maybe they don’t know how the plane crash was faked. The Others are puppets for those we haven’t seen yet.

  47. Omar Kamel says:

    Hmm…

    Well, I agree with XtraCrispy in that now it seems that Desmond has at least been around 4 times.

    Otherwise, losty makes some good points.

    Unless we sweep it under a huge ‘artistic license’ rug – the fact that all these people survived the plane crash borders on the ridiculous. The only possible explanation is that an agency of some sort (or an agent of some sort) somehow intervened as the plane started breaking up, and somehow made sure these people survived the crash.

    Possible nominees are – the monster, or the Dharma initiative – assuming it has the power to do so, through the monster or otherwise.

    It’s highly unlikely that ‘The Others’ could do such a thing – and I am also judging by Ben’s response when he saw the plane breakup as we witnessed him in the first episode of season 3. He specifically sent out Ethan and Goodwin to check things out, and to see IF there were any survivors. So any post-plane-break-up intervention would not have been engineered by The Others – unless this was something that a ‘higher’ Other – such as maybe the mysterious Jacob – could handle. Again, this would explain some surviving (after all, Jacob had a list, which if I recall correctly, did not, for instance, include Jack) but wouldn’t explain why all the others were saved as well.

    The passage of time in of itself – as mentioned by losty – might explain the apparent ‘staged’ look of the crash (mainly, I think – due to Jack’s quite remote position regarding the crash) – but would not explain the initial survival of the losties. So – I prefer the notion that some agent or agency intervened, whether or not that agency used any time-distortion or memory devices. It seems possible, but not necessary.

    The main problem with Jack’s current ‘conversion’ is the speed at which it was done. To our knowledge – it’s been what? 3 or 4 days since he helped Kate & Sawyer escape? Surely not enough to convert him – even taking into consideration things like the Stockholm Effect. It just doesn’t make sense, especially considering how stubborn we know Jack to be. An alternative explanation is that time inside the barracks perimeter moves somewhat differently – but if so, we should have seen some time-distortion effect taking place between Kate and the others (Sayid & Locke) when she climbed inside.

    The greater mystery seems to be Locke’s behavior of late. The notion that he likes it just fine on the island and would like to stay there doesn’t suffice to explain his recent behavior. It simply doesn’t add up. We know Locke can be a bit … private and just plain strange, but we’ve also seen several instances where he displays a strong sense of integrity, and lately, well, he hasn’t been acting that way. He’s been doing things which seem stupid, and he’s also been doing a bit of lying and covering up, and it’s almost certain that he knew his entry of 77 would destroy The Flame – also – when Kate asked said he didn’t show much enthusiasm towards saving Jack, he didn’t explicitly deny that.

    Oh, well. Anyway, with the exception of the the horrific Tattoo episode – I think Lost has been picking up quite nicely.

    Shazam!

  48. Anon says:

    [quote comment=”44863″]Haven’t we seen Claire’s aunt leslie before? She looks a lot like the woman Sawyer conned in the Long Con…also could Mikhail know all that stuff about Locke because he controled the smoke monster? Please let me know what you think![/quote]

    I think Claire’s aunt was the one that Christian Shepard argued with in the rain while Ana Lucia waited out in the car.

  49. Anon says:

    [quote comment=”44878″]The main problem with Jack’s current ‘conversion’ is the speed at which it was done. To our knowledge – it’s been what? 3 or 4 days since he helped Kate & Sawyer escape?[/quote]

    Assuming, of course, that he’s the Jack we all know from the beach. Perhaps Jack-from-the-beach (who was very definitely not on “The List”) is locked in Ben’s basement, while the “good twin” plays football with Beardy.

  50. soapyt says:

    didn’t patchy see locke in the spy-cam when he was in the pearl (when we saw patchy for the first time)?

    the others have to know katie, sayid and locke are near them b/c the entire island is security cammed. no? or have the others only cammed-up the other city where they took kate, sawyer and jack?

    who all is on the list? just jack?

    jacks dad could totally be alive being that locke can walk again.

  51. chewap says:

    we all know what will happen next week

    kate: jack how can you? what are you doing here?

    jack: kate, it’s not that simple

    😉

  52. ?Endo? says:

    Love the “Jack’s father assumptions”. On that note, awhile back Jack follows his father to a supposed “A.A” meeting. Christian’s reaction seemed a little off when he saw Jacks face fly through the door. Was that really an A.A meeting or DHARMA / Other get together.

  53. Bobbi says:

    losty…oooh i like your theory. What if everyone WAS handpicked and “placed” at a staged plane crash, or even on the same flight. We now know time is no object, so perhaps they were “collected”…maybe even by one person (Christian?) who they all are somehow linked to. I know it does sound farfetched, but i like it, and it could explain a ‘list’.

  54. Hammer says:

    I think I pointed it out last season that many of the Losties were somehow directed to get on the same flight.
    Locke couldn’t go on his walkabout, Eko was told to stop investigating the miracle girl, Jack picking up his dead father, Claire’s pychic telling her to leave Austrailia(same man that told Eko the miracle was a fake), etc…etc… I like the “connection” theory better than a staged crash scene. The Others watched the plane crash so that seems unlikely.

  55. rebolek says:

    so Jack is playing american football. should he sit and swear all day? maybe just Tom came to him and told him “So you can sit here all day long and swear, or you can join me playing american football, it’s upon you” and Jack said “Well, you’re right, this has no sense, let’s have some fun”. Why not?

  56. Tina says:

    I think the thing about this episode that really fried my brain was that crazy fence! Remeber back when we were all debating how many groups of people were on the island?! I think that big ole friend chicken fence is a fairly obvious indicator that the “Others” are not the biggest and baddest folk on the island. That fence was erected to keep someone or something out of Otherville for a reason. I think the $64,000 question is who are the “Others” so afraid of that they’d maintain an electrified brain frying fence for x amount of years and let communications satelites decay and hatches fall into disepair?

    I also don’t trust John Locke. There’s something that’s going ot be revealed about him ASAP that isn’t good. I can feel it.

  57. Tina says:

    I’m also suspicious of Jack’s apparent glee as tossing the pigskin around with Tom. I think he is making the best of the situation and I’m sure he enjoys being able to run around in clean clothes tossing a football around much more than being locked in a fishbowl underground for god knows how long. This doesn’t make him a traitor such as it makes him an opportunist.

    Who knows, maybe life is Otherville is pretty sweet.

  58. Pelinester says:

    I have to admit that I thought the American Football scene was awesome! It was such a classic Lost moment. Totally unexpected! Especially the way they played the Jack running to his pal’s scene.

    I personally am hoping that Jack has learned some revelation that we are soon to learn that completely changes our perspective of the Others. That just feels like what they have been heading towards and I think it is totally in the tradition of Lost to pull a card like that. Although whilst I doubt they will be shown to be the Good Guys, I at least expect they will seem more Human and their motives will at least be understandable.

    One issue that has me wondering a lot is the whole ‘Locke’s hiding something’ angle. What was the C4 for? One thing I have been considering is that Locke’s mission to the others may be to see Ben. Ben was instrumental in convincing Locke not press the button so Locke may be interested in exacting a personal vendetta against him. Another possibility I was considering was that he might attempt to offer in some way to join the Others. Ben did say that he was coming for John when he was captured, now whilst I would say this was probably a Lie (especially considering now that ‘Patchy’ has mentioned Locke wasn’t on ‘the list’) perhaps Locke thinks that joining the Others might be part of ‘Destiny’.

    If you remember the last time Locke was confronted by his friend the column of black smoke, Dynamite helped him escape. Perhaps he was thinking that having a little C4 on hand might be useful in fighting or freeing someone from the Monster? I don’t think C4 works quite the same way as dynamite though, and it probably needs some kind of detonator and simply couldn’t be thrown at something as a weapon.

    Anyway, just some thoughts, probably way off the mark though, as usual.. 🙂

  59. FMGreenSteve says:

    [quote comment=”44931″]…I think the $64,000 question is who are the “Others” so afraid of that they’d maintain an electrified brain frying fence for x amount of years and let communications satelites decay and hatches fall into disepair?…[/quote]

    Excellent point, excellent question.
    We still don’t know for sure that The Others are in control of the smoke monster. My assumption is that there is still a large contingent of Dharma on the island, somewhere. Underground maybe.

  60. MKS says:

    Some thoughts:
    1. The fence could be just means to keep out Smokie.
    2. Locke might have been given some information by smokie, or there could have been something else in the writing on Eko’s stick that is cousing him to act strange/ believe he needs to find the Others.
    3. Dr. Christian Shephard-
    -connected to at least five characters in the story
    -coffin survived the plane crash, but his body was gone
    -could he really be Jack (Jacob) Sr.?
    -in the last episode when talking to Claire he said the reason he was not with her mother/ it did not work out for them, was because he had another family. Was this “family” he mentioned Jack and his mother, or could it have been Dharma? The Others often call themselves/ Dharma a “family”. I am not sure what time this converstion happened chronologicaly, but Dr. Shephard might have been divorced by then. It could also be the reason why Claire’s mom and aunt objected to this “family” so much.

    Any thoughts on this?

  61. Tina says:

    [quote comment=”44950″]Some thoughts:
    1. The fence could be just means to keep out Smokie.

    3. Dr. Christian Shepard
    -could he really be Jack (Jacob) Sr.?
    -in the last episode when talking to Claire he said the reason he was not with her mother/ it did not work out for them, was because he had another family. Was this “family” he mentioned Jack and his mother, or could it have been Dharma? The Others often call themselves/ Dharma a “family”. I am not sure what time this converstion happened chronologicaly, but Dr. Shephard might have been divorced by then. It could also be the reason why Claire’s mom and aunt objected to this “family” so much.

    Any thoughts on this?[/quote]

    1. If the fence were built to keep out Smokie, it sure wouldn’t do a good job because humans can climb over. If SMokie can squish Ecko, it can also get over a sonic/electrified fence.
    3. Dr. Shepard most definitely was referring to Jack and his Mom as his “family” unless he has a third illegitimate family elsewhere. I’m not certain I buy into all the Dharma/Christian Shepard connections quite yet, but I doubt he would refer to them as his “family” when talking to Claire, since Dharma is sort of hush hush and all.

    I haven’t figured what and if Christian Shepard has a connection to the Dharma initiative and I doubt given his propensity towards drunken operating that the Initiative would be super keen on having him aboard let alone considering him the “Him” they refer to as their supreme leader.

  62. Bobbi says:

    Honestly, I did not see the fence as keeping people out….I saw it as keeping people IN!
    Juliet made it clear she wasn’t able to leave freely. And it seems like Ben’s daughter was not in a hurry to join her father again anytime soon-she was hiding. Ben seems content on the island, (been there his whole life) and perhaps he does have everyone under his thumb.

  63. Uatu says:

    I saw this coming, too. I didn’t want the story to go this way, but then again, when a story is predictable and everything goes the way you want it to, it’s often boring. So I’m willing to give them the benefit of the doubt and see where things go from here.

  64. Grace says:

    I think that Jack is an “other” the ultimate spy. There was no other way for him to get back to his people without the elaborate surgery fake out. Now he is just home again, happy as a clam. Remember how he made Kate SWEAR to never return? It’s because while he was a spy he fell in love with her and sincerely doesn’t want to see her harmed.

  65. Grace says:

    Tom is his uncle, his Dad’s brother and chief lieutenant of the Other’s.

  66. lostlostlost says:

    i realized something and im sure it isnt thatt big…but the map on the hatch wall had that huge question mark on it with those dotted lines surrounding it…and the map that sayid got from the “77” place…well that had dotted lines in a big circle and when sayid said we are here he pointed to them…so that security deadly fence thing is the question mark…but now the question is why the question mark in the first place?????

    and another thing i thought of…im prob. not the first butttt it seems that jacks dad is connected to everyone in some way on the island…of course jack, claire, my man sawyer, and whoever those people are connected to means that jacks dad is connected to them… SO would if this could mean that jacks dad is JACOB and he knew all hte people, so he coudl make the list and have them all on the island!!!! and in his life at home he was someone high in societY!!!!!

    one more thing…it would beinteresting if jack switched sides…but when karl was being brainwashed the thing was saying “god loves you as he loves jacob” so if jack was brainwashed maybe he was lead to believe that everything is okay there!!!

    tell me waht you think

  67. patience says:

    It was “god loves you as he love Jacob” ‘Loved’ being the keyword.

  68. patience says:

    I meant loved instead of love, probably figured that out though.

  69. liesa says:

    Read this at another site. Might jacob refer to the biblical Esau and Jacob? Twin sons. The line God loves you as he loved Jacob is almost a direct quote. One twin was beloved by his father, the other gives away his heritage for a “mess of pottage”. You can even twist the names to be Jac-ob and E -sawyer. Anyway, if you’re interested that site is Wuzzon: Lost: God loves you as he loved jacob.
    Sorry if you guys have already covered this.
    I really enjoy reading all your comments.

  70. Lesley says:

    I have a question about the barracks. Sayid found the map in the Dharma manuals at the Flame, that eventually led them to Othersville. But where did the Hostiles live prior taking over the Dharma housing? If Patchy really was telling the truth and the Hostiles were there long before Dharma, then where did they reside? Dr. Candle mentions the barracks and the Pala ferry in the Orientation video so if the Dharma scientists were being ferried back and forth during the 1970s where the heck were the Hostiles living and how were they abe to win the war against Dharma’s technology? Did they live and hide in the caves around the island? Is there some underwater residence apart from Hydra? The Hostiles have taken over Dharma’s digs but if they were on the island for such a long time before the 1970s, then how does it all fit? There is that timing thing again!

  71. Anarkangel says:

    Ben to Locke in the Hatch about the leader:
    “he is a great man”

    Achara to Jack about him:
    “you are a great man, a leader.”

  72. Bobbi says:

    Someone mentioned the map in the hatch, with the question mark. Perhaps this is to show that there is indeed a difference between Dharma and the Others. Maybe we CAN believe that they are two different sides, afterall we sometimes think they are one in the same. And although they talk of a purge, we haven’t been able to know for sure if they aren’t all one. But if Dharma drew the map, then it would make sense, because they wouldn’t know what was beyond the “dotted lines”–being the sonic fence.

  73. Kirk says:

    Is it possible that it was not Jack but a twin brother who is part of the experiment that was playing with the football? We saw how Jack’s dad could isolate himself from family for a lifetime as with Clair. If you go back to the scene at the end where Jack spikes the football, you will see different tatoos on Jack’s forearm than what we have seen before. Does anyone have hi definition to see better what the tatoos are, I could not see very well.

  74. Ro-zgee says:

    If you go back to the scene at the end where Jack spikes the football, you will see different tatoos on Jack’s forearm than what we have seen before. Does anyone have hi definition to see better what the tatoos are, I could not see very well.[/quote]

    The tatoos do look different – they’re underneath his arm, and look like colorful stars or something. Have we seen these before on Jack? I can’t believe he has a twin.

  75. Chris says:

    Ok, u guys r gonna have to watch the movies for urslefs to completely understand what im saying. But like u all know, Stephon King is prreety popular in lost. The other day i was watchong tv, and i was skimmiung through guide and i saw a movie title by stephen king called “The Langoliers” or however u spell langoo blah wahtever. I started watching it about 35 minutes into the movie, and there all on a plane who lost contact and so forth. They also believed the government and some scientists (like others or dharma) planned the crash, they were subjects on the plane. they didnt know what was below the plane (as in on the ground) and they didnt know if there was even anything down there (the outside world maybe on lost?). u really need to watch it to fully get it. Then Stephen Kings “It” is on right now, and as u may or may not know is they all see visions of that stupid clown, and they too have flashbacks.. again, watch these movies and youll see. Basically what im saying is that Stephen King is a bigger part of lost then most of us think.

Comments are closed.